LibGuides: BIO122: Environmental Biology: Environmental Topics

Background to Issues

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window Topics: All subjects; now with additional health science and nursing content. Description: Reference collection with over 870 general and subject-specific titles including dictionaries, encyclopedias, biographies and more. Contents: Background information, images, and mind maps from three collections: Academic Core, General Health & Wellness, and Nursing & Allied Health.

The Environmental Debate
This unique collection of primary documents examines the evolution of concern about environmental degradation, pollution, and resource conservation in America.
Princeton Guide to Evolution
A comprehensive, concise, and authoritative reference to the major subjects and key concepts in evolutionary biology, from genes to mass extinctions.

Looking for articles?

Looking for articles? Start here!

Each of the databases below provides full-text articles from academic journals, magazines, and news sources. Articles can be downloaded, emailed, or shared for future use. APA citations are provided for each source.

Science-Specific Databases

Science Databases

If you know what environmental policy or solution you're searching for, enter it in a database search box. If you're looking for more information about the legacy of your scientist, enter his/her name in the search box and review those search results first, then refine your search as needed.

Environmental Studies and Policy (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window Topics: Environmental issues, policy, and science. Contents: Articles, images, and videos.
Science (Gale in Context) This link opens in a new window Topics: Astronomy, biology, chemistry, earth science, environmentalism, health science, mathematics, physics, and technology. Contents: Articles, audio, background information, book excerpts, experiments, images, links to recommended websites, maps, reference materials, topic pages, videos, and more.
Research Library: Sciences & Technology (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window Topics: Agriculture, biology, chemistry, computing, engineering, environmental science, materials science and physics. Contents: Articles and news.

General Databases

If you're still missing biographical details or need more information about your subject's policies, solutions, and legacies, try these general databases that cover a wide range of topics:

Academic OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new window Topics: All subjects. Contents: Articles, book excerpts, images, news, reference material, and videos.
Opposing Viewpoints (Gale in Context) This link opens in a new window Topics: Current events and social issues. Contents: Articles, audio, background information, images, links to recommended websites, primary sources, pro/con viewpoint essays, statistics, and videos.