Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Recommended Search Terms
Keywords, or 'search terms', related to Psychology can help you quickly find resources in databases. Try the following keywords:
- DSM-5 (Classify)
- Anxiety Disorders
- Mood Disorders
- Somatoform Disorders
- Dissociative Identify Disorder
- Treatments would circle back to psychological perspectives; depending on the perspective, would depend on treatment
Can you think of some keywords?
A library database is an organized, searchable collection of citations or full-text articles of periodicals (magazines, journals and news sources) or reports as well as images, recordings and videos often related to a specific subject area. Using library databases will help you find reliable information from trusted sources.
CINAHL Ultimate (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Upgraded CINAHL Complete
Topics: Allied health, alternative/complementary medicine, biomedicine, consumer health, ambulatory care, gerontological nursing, physical therapy, psychiatric nursing, and nursing.
Contents: Articles, book excerpts, care sheets, quick lessons, full text reference books, research instruments (measurement tools), government publications, and CEUs.
Health Science Databases (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Topics: Drugs, health, medicine, and nursing.
Description: Simultaneous search of four EBSCOhost databases: CINAHL Complete, Health Source: Consumer Edition, Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition, and MEDLINE with Full Text.
Contents: Articles, care sheets, drug information, and more.
MEDLINE with Full Text (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Topics: Dentistry, healthcare, medicine, nursing, and veterinary medicine.
Contents: Articles, reference material, research reports, and studies.
Opposing Viewpoints (Gale in Context) This link opens in a new window
Topics: Current events and social issues.
Contents: Articles, audio, background information, images, links to recommended websites, primary sources, pro/con viewpoint essays, statistics, and videos.
Psychology (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Topics: Mental health, the mind, and psychology.
Contents: Articles, images, news, reference material, and videos.
Research Library: Social Sciences (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Topics: Communication, criminology, education, psychology, and social science.
Contents: Articles and news.
Merck Manual: Professional Version This link opens in a new window
Topics: Diseases, drugs, health, and procedures.
Description: Medical reference collection.
Contents: Background information, case studies, drug information, news, and videos.
Nursing Reference Center Plus / NRC Plus / NRC+ This link opens in a new window
Topics: Medicine and nursing.
Description: Nursing point-of-care tool with clinical skills.
Contents: Assessment, background information from medical and nursing reference books, care plans, CEUs (continuing education modules), competency checklists, cultural competencies, diagnoses, drug guides, images, management, patient education handouts, procedures, skills, and videos.
Salem Press This link opens in a new window
Topics: Alternative medicine, cancer, community & family health, diseases, genetics, medical conditions, mental health, nutrition, psychology and substance abuse.
Careers in Business and Engineering.
Description: Medical reference collection.
Contents: Medical encyclopedias: Complementary & Alternative Medicine; Genetics and Inherited Conditions; Magill's Medical Guide; Principles of Anatomy; From Salem Health: Addictions, Substance Abuse & Alcoholism; Community & Family Health Issues; Infectious Diseases & Conditions; and Nutrition.
American Psychiatric Association: Mental Health Explainer Videos
Access to Print & Ebooks
Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
Topics: All academic subjects.
O'Reilly This link opens in a new window
Formerly Safari (O'Reilly).
Topics: A variety of subject areas with an emphasis on business, career, certification, and technology resources.
Contents: Ebooks and multimedia (digital/video content).
Search the Library Catalog
ECPI Library Catalog This link opens in a new window
An online library catalog is an electronic database that describes the books, reference works, media, periodicals, etc., carried by the library, where they are located, and if they are available to check out.