LibGuides: BSN: Professionalism

Recommended Reference Databases

Merck Manual: Professional Version This link opens in a new window Topics: Diseases, drugs, health, and procedures. Description: Medical reference collection. Contents: Background information, case studies, drug information, news, and videos.
Nursing Reference Center Plus / NRC Plus / NRC+ This link opens in a new window Topics: Medicine and nursing. Description: Nursing point-of-care tool with clinical skills. Contents: Assessment, background information from medical and nursing reference books, care plans, CEUs (continuing education modules), competency checklists, cultural competencies, diagnoses, drug guides, images, management, patient education handouts, procedures, skills, and videos.
Salem Press This link opens in a new window Topics: Careers, health science, nursing, occupational and physical therapy, psychology, and technology. Description: Medical and technology reference collection. Contents: Careers in Cybersecurity; Careers in Engineering; Magill’s Medical Guide; encyclopedias related to anatomy, computer-aided design, diseases & conditions, health, nursing, nutrition, and substance abuse.

Recommended Journal Databases

CINAHL Ultimate (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window Upgraded CINAHL Complete Topics: Allied health, alternative/complementary medicine, biomedicine, consumer health, ambulatory care, gerontological nursing, physical therapy, psychiatric nursing, and nursing. Contents: Articles, book excerpts, care sheets, quick lessons, full text reference books, research instruments (measurement tools), government publications, and CEUs.
Health and Medicine (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window Topics: Allied health, medicine, nursing, and personal health. Description: Formerly Health Reference Center Academic. Contents: Articles, book excerpts, images, reference material, reports, and videos.
Health Science Databases (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window Topics: Drugs, health, medicine, and nursing. Description: Simultaneous search of four EBSCOhost databases: CINAHL Complete, Health Source: Consumer Edition, Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition, and MEDLINE with Full Text. Contents: Articles, care sheets, drug information, and more.
MEDLINE with Full Text (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window Topics: Dentistry, healthcare, medicine, nursing, and veterinary medicine. Contents: Articles, reference material, research reports, and studies.
Research Library: Health & Medicine (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window Topics: Allied health, medical science, nursing, pharmacology and public health. Contents: Articles and news.
Statista This link opens in a new window Topics: Businesses, consumer markets, crime, digital markets, health care, industries, and social science. Descriptions: Collection of statistics and data sets in all subject areas. Contents: Dossiers, forecasts, infographics, reports, and statistics.

Related Research Guides

Nursing Guides

Professional Organizations and Associations

American Association of Colleges of Nursing (AACN) The AACN "works to establish quality standards for nursing education; assists schools in implementing those standards; influences the nursing profession to improve health care; and promotes public support for professional nursing education, research, and practice"
American Nurses Association Representing registered nurses the ANA "advances the nursing profession by fostering high standards of nursing practice, promoting a safe and ethical work environment, bolstering the health and wellness of nurses, and advocating on health care issues that affect nurses and the public."
American Nursing Informatics Association (ANIA) The ANIA offers education and networking opportunities for those working in this specialty.
American Organization for Nursing Leadership (AONL) AONL advances the professional development of nurse leaders through innovative and competency-based learning experiences.
International Council of Nurses (ICN) The International Council of Nurses (ICN) is a federation of more than 130 national nurses associations (NNAs), representing the more than 27 million nurses worldwide.
National League for Nursing The National League for Nursing promotes excellence in nursing education to build a strong and diverse nursing workforce to advance the health of our nation and the global community.
National Student Nurses' Association (NSNA) "Dedicated to fostering the professional development of nursing students" the NSNA offers resources, including conferences to aid students on the development of their career and leadership skills.
Sigma Theta Tau International, The Honor Society of Nursing Sigma is an international community of nurses, dedicated to the advancement of knowledge, teaching, learning, and service through the cultivation of communities of practice, education, and research.

Academy of Medical-Surgical Nurses The AMSN "is the only specialty nursing organization dedicated to the practice of medical-surgical nursing. A dynamic community of more than 11,000 medical-surgical nurses".
Academy of Neonatal Nursing The Academy of Neonatal Nursing aims "to provide quality educational offerings for health care professionals caring for neonates and their families".
American Association of Critical-Care Nurses The AACN is a professional organization for acute and critical care nurses.
American Association of Nurse Anesthesiology The AANA "is a professional association representing more than 59,000 Certified Registered Nurse Anesthetists (CRNAs) and student registered nurse anesthetists nationwide."
American Association of Nurse Practitioners The AANP is a professional organization for all NPs and NP students. The AANP Mission is to "empower all NPs to advance quality health care through practice, education, advocacy, research, and leadership".
American Medical Informatics Association: Nursing Informatics Working Group AMIA "aims to lead the way in transforming health care through trusted science, education, and the practice of informatics. AMIA connects a broad community of professionals and students interested in informatics".
American Nursing Informatics Association The ANIA "membership is open to nurses and other healthcare professionals interested in informatics nursing". ANIA aims to "advance nursing informatics through education, research, and practice in all roles and settings.
American Psychiatric Nurses Association " APNA is the only PMH nursing organization whose membership is inclusive of all PMH nurses: associate degree (ADN), baccalaureate (BSN), and advanced practice (APRN – including clinical nurse specialists (CNS), psychiatric nurse practitioners (NP), and nurse scientists and academicians (PhD and DNP)). "
American Telemedicine Association The ATA consists of a "broad and inclusive member network of leading healthcare delivery systems, academic institutions, technology solution providers and payers, as well as partner organizations and alliances, working to advance industry adoption of telehealth, promote responsible policy, advocate for government and market normalization, and provide education and resources to help integrate virtual care into emerging value-based delivery models."
Association of Community Health Nursing Educators ACHNE " provides a meeting ground for those committed to excellence in community and public health nursing education, research, and practice".
Association of Women's Health, Obstetric and Neonatal Nurses AWHONN aims to "Empower and support nurses caring for women, newborns, and their families through research, education, and advocacy".
Emergency Nurse Association The ENA strives to "advance excellence nursing. Our vision is to be the premier organization for the emergency nursing community worldwide".
Gerontological Advanced Practice Nurses Association GAPNA is a professional organization "that represents the interests of advanced practice nurses, other clinicians, educators, and researchers involved in the practice or advancement of caring for older adults".
Hospital and Palliative Nurses Association The HPNA works to "advance nursing expertise in hospice and palliative care through education, advocacy, leadership, and research".
National Association for Home Care & Hospice "The NAHC is a nonprofit organization that represents the nation’s 33,000 home care and hospice organizations. NAHC also advocates for the more than two million nurses, therapists, aides, and other caregivers employed by such organizations to provide in-home services to some 12 million Americans each year who are infirm, chronically ill, and disabled."
Oncology Nursing Society ONS assists "cancer caregivers are any point on the clinical ladder [to] advance their learning and careers, understand oncology science and best practices, advocate for their profession, and advance [the] cause - to continuously improve the quality of cancer care and the lives of every nurse who provides it".
Professional Association of Nurse Travelers "The Professional Association of Nurse Travelers serves as a comprehensive educational resource for Healthcare Travelers in the United States. Our larger vision is to improve the conditions for Healthcare Travelers, hospitals and patients. The Association identifies issues of concern to nurse travelers, researches solutions and defines standards that foster safe, healthy, and humane work environments. Universal Implementation of Compact State licensure for nurses and mandated safe staffing ratios are two such important issues that can have a positive impact on working conditions and patient care."
Society of Pediatric Nurses Society of Pediatric Nurses aims "to advance the specialty of pediatric nursing through excellence in education, research and practice".
Society of Trauma Nurses "The Society of Trauma Nurses is a professional nonprofit organization whose mission is to ensure optimal trauma care to all people locally, regionally, nationally and globally through initiatives focused on trauma nurses related to prevention, education and collaboration with other healthcare disciplines".

Parts of this guide were inspired by Goodwin University Hoffman Family Library

BSN: Professionalism

Code

"The Code of Ethics for Nurses with Interpretive Statements (The Code) was developed as a guide for carrying out nursing responsibilities in a manner consistent with quality in nursing care and the ethical obligations of the profession."

Recommended Reference Databases

Recommended Journal Databases

Related Research Guides

Professional Organizations and Associations