LibGuides: Communication Principles: Self-awareness & Emotional Intelligence

Using Emotional Intelligence to Improve Communication

Fear of Public Speaking? Be A.W.A.R.E.

Stage Fright (TED Talk)

Recommended Databases

A library database is an organized, searchable collection of citations or full-text articles of periodicals (magazines, journals and news sources) or reports as well as images, recordings and videos often related to a specific subject area. Using library databases will help you find reliable information from trusted sources.

Communications and Mass Media (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window Topics: Advertising, communications, literature, media, public relations, and writing. Contents: Articles, images, and videos.
Diversity Studies (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window Topics: Cultural differences, contributions, and influences in the global community. Contents: Articles, images, reference material, and videos.
Opposing Viewpoints (Gale in Context) This link opens in a new window Topics: Current events and social issues. Contents: Articles, audio, background information, images, links to recommended websites, primary sources, pro/con viewpoint essays, statistics, and videos.

Recommended Search Terms

Try one of the search terms below in your database search

Trait anxiety

Context anxiety

Audience anxiety

Situation anxiety

Glossophobia

Example

Access to Print and Ebooks with Catalog Search

Search Ebook Collections

Ebook Central This link opens in a new window Topics: All academic subjects. Contents: Ebooks.
O'Reilly This link opens in a new window Formerly Safari (O'Reilly). Topics: A variety of subject areas with an emphasis on business, career, certification, and technology resources. Contents: Ebooks and multimedia (digital/video content).

Search the Library Catalog

ECPI Library Catalog This link opens in a new window An online library catalog is an electronic database that describes the books, reference works, media, etc., carried by the library, their location, and their availability.

Other e-Resources

Psychology Today Article
Glossophobia — a really cool and geeky name for the fear of public speaking — appears when you are performing or expecting to perform an oral presentation or a speech in front of other people...
Boston University's Nerve Blog
About 75% of the world’s population struggle with this social phobia, or social anxiety disorder, to some extent...

Communication Principles: Self-awareness & Emotional Intelligence

Print Books & Ebooks