LibGuides: ENG110: College Composition: Research

Library Resources

Library databases provide access to full-text articles from journals, magazines, and more. The databases listed below cover a wide variety of topics.

Academic OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new window Topics: All subjects. Contents: Articles, book excerpts, images, news, reference material, and videos.
Opposing Viewpoints (Gale in Context) This link opens in a new window Topics: Current events and social issues. Contents: Articles, audio, background information, images, links to recommended websites, primary sources, pro/con viewpoint essays, statistics, and videos.
Statista This link opens in a new window Topics: Businesses, consumer markets, crime, digital markets, health care, industries, and social science. Descriptions: Collection of statistics and data sets in all subject areas. Contents: Dossiers, forecasts, infographics, reports, and statistics.

Search Ebook Collections

Ebook Central This link opens in a new window Topics: All academic subjects. Contents: Ebooks.
O'Reilly This link opens in a new window Formerly Safari (O'Reilly). Topics: A variety of subject areas with an emphasis on business, career, certification, and technology resources. Contents: Ebooks and multimedia (digital/video content).

Search the Library Catalog

ECPI Library Catalog This link opens in a new window An online library catalog is an electronic database that describes the books, reference works, media, etc., carried by the library, their location, and their availability.

Reference collections provide facts, background information, and can help build your vocabulary and knowledge base around a topic.

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window Topics: All subjects; now with additional health science and nursing content. Description: Reference collection with over 870 general and subject-specific titles including dictionaries, encyclopedias, biographies and more. Contents: Background information, images, and mind maps from three collections: Academic Core, General Health & Wellness, and Nursing & Allied Health.

The LibGuides below contain resources specific to each program. If you are having trouble finding a topic or sources, these will provide additional support by program.

Research on the Web

When researching on the open web, you should:

Carefully evaluate any information you find or intend to use in your research

Ensure the information is accurate, timely, and agenda/bias-free

Pay close attention to all details, including:

- When it was last updated

- Who is responsible for the website

Use the links below to assist you in evaluating web resources.

Open web resources can provide valuable information when researching a topic. Due to the nature of the open web, it is important that you carefully evaluate what you find. The resources below are recommended when using the open web.

Primary Research

Primary research or field research is:

Research you conduct yourself
Usually in the form of interviews, surveys, and questionnaires
Can be especially helpful if your research topic is about a local issue or an issue without much established research

If you are going to use primary research in your assignment, use the links below to assist you in getting started.

Finding multimedia for your assignments

Search Openverse to find Creative Commons-licensed and public domain content like images and videos. Review attribution requirements for content used.

About Creative Commons (CC) Licenses

"Creative Commons licenses give everyone from individual creators to large institutions a standardized way to grant the public permission to use their creative work under copyright law. From the reuser’s perspective, the presence of a Creative Commons license on a copyrighted work answers the question, What can I do with this work?"

You can also find images and other multimedia in most journal and reference databases. Make sure to generate a citation for any content used.

APA FAQs:

How do I cite an image?

How do I cite a video in APA format?