LibGuides: Transcultural Nursing: Databases & Articles

Starting a Search in a Database

Recommended Databases

CINAHL Ultimate (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window Upgraded CINAHL Complete Topics: Allied health, alternative/complementary medicine, biomedicine, consumer health, ambulatory care, gerontological nursing, physical therapy, psychiatric nursing, and nursing. Contents: Articles, book excerpts, care sheets, quick lessons, full text reference books, research instruments (measurement tools), government publications, and CEUs.
Health Science Databases (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window Topics: Drugs, health, medicine, and nursing. Description: Simultaneous search of four EBSCOhost databases: CINAHL Complete, Health Source: Consumer Edition, Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition, and MEDLINE with Full Text. Contents: Articles, care sheets, drug information, and more.
Research Library: Health & Medicine (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window Topics: Allied health, medical science, nursing, pharmacology and public health. Contents: Articles and news.
Nursing Reference Center Plus / NRC Plus / NRC+ This link opens in a new window Topics: Medicine and nursing. Description: Nursing point-of-care tool with clinical skills. Contents: Assessment, background information from medical and nursing reference books, care plans, CEUs (continuing education modules), competency checklists, cultural competencies, diagnoses, drug guides, images, management, patient education handouts, procedures, skills, and videos.

Merck Manual: Professional Version This link opens in a new window Topics: Diseases, drugs, health, and procedures. Description: Medical reference collection. Contents: Background information, case studies, drug information, news, and videos.
MEDLINE with Full Text (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window Topics: Dentistry, healthcare, medicine, nursing, and veterinary medicine. Contents: Articles, reference material, research reports, and studies.
Psychology (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window Topics: Mental health, the mind, and psychology. Contents: Articles, images, news, reference material, and videos.

Global Road Warrior This link opens in a new window Topics: Country information featuring culture & society, education, history, holidays & festivals, language, media outlets, music, maps, money, national symbols, religion, transcultural nursing, and travel, Contents: Country guides illustrated with photos, maps, and flag images.

Other recommended online periodicals (magazines, journals, and news sources available via NLM).

Aboriginal Australians	Disparities	Native Hawaiian
Arabs	Ethnic groups	Pacific Islander
Asians	Health beliefs	Patient Attitude
Attitude to health	Health care delivery	Refugees
Culture	Health services accessibility	Religion and religions
Cultural competence	Hispanics	Transcultural care
Cultural safety	Immigrants	Transients and migrants
Cultural sensitivity	Minority groups
Cultural values	Native Americans