Skip to Main Content

Crime and Intelligence Analysis: Collection of Intelligence

This research guide contains information-- both current and historical--on the topic of intelligence. Areas covered include intelligence collection, the intelligence cycle, and also topics such as counterintelligence and cyber intelligence.
 

Collection of Intelligence


 

The collection of intelligence is the gathering of raw information based on requirements determined in the first step of the cycle. Collection includes inputs from a number of intelligence gathering disciplines such as HUMINT, IMINT, SIGINT, etc. Some requirements will be better met by specific types of collection, while others may benefit from several types of collection.

 

Online Resources

Clark, R. M.  (2013, Fall/Winter).  Perspectives on intelligence collection.  The Intelligencer, 20(2), 47-53.  Link to source

Ellis, D.  (2013).  Algorithms for efficient intelligence collection (Master's thesis, Naval Postgraduate School).  Calhoun.  Link to source

Intelligence Collection

Litt, R. S.  (2013).  Privacy, technology, and national security:  An overview of intelligence collection [speech transcript].  Office of the Director of National Intelligence.  Link to source

Moses, B.D.  (2004).  Intelligence collection: Supporting full spectrum dominance and network centric warfare?  Homeland Security Digital Library.  Link to source

Robertson, J. T.  (2007).  Detect and defeat: The complexities of accomplishing the HLS mission with existing intelligence collection practices (Master's thesis, Naval Postgraduate School).  Homeland Security Digital Library.  Link to source

Tangerman, D. K.  (2014).  Intelligence collection targeting and interdiction of dark networks (Master's thesis, Naval Postgraduate School).  Calhoun.  Link to source